ANNOUNCED: These are the 2020 Art Music Awards finalists


APRA AMCOS and the Australian Music Centre are excited to announce the 2020 Art Music Awards finalists.

This year’s awards are streaming as a virtual event, premiering on APRA AMCOS’ YouTube channel on Tuesday 8 September, 7pm AEST.  

A record 278 nominations were received across 13 national categories, despite the pandemic locking states down just as the entries were about to close.

A significant number of emerging composers are making their mark in this year’s list of finalists. There’s also a powerful demonstration of the dedicated work beyond the largest metropolitan centres, and outside the professional organisations, in nurturing new Australian music and works.

Julian Day is a finalist for Work of the Year – Choral. Cat Hope (featured image) is a finalist for Work of the Year – Dramatic.

2020 Art Music Awards presented by APRA AMCOS and Australian Music Centre: Finalists

Work of the Year — Choral

Title:      A Civic Space
Composer: Julian Day
Performer:   Musicians from the Barossa region
Title:      I am Martuwarra
Composer: Paul Stanhope, text by Steve Hawke
Performer:   Gondwana Choirs, Luminescence Chamber Singers, Valla Voices, Hunter Singers, and Resonance and Lyn Williams, conductor
Title:      Requiem-Recomposed
Composer: Gordon Hamilton
Performer:   Omega Ensemble and The Australian Voices and Gordon Hamilton, conductor
Title:      Singing the Love
Composer: Ross Edwards
Performer: Choir of King’s College, Cambridge and Stephen Cleobury, conductor
Publisher:  BMG AM 
Paul Stanhope

Work of the Year — Dramatic

Title:      Ned Kelly
Composer: Luke Styles, librettist Peter Goldsworthy
Performer: Lost and Found Opera and Chris van Tuinen, conductor
Publisher:    G Schirmer Australia
Title:      Oscar and Lucinda
Composer: Elliott Gyger, librettist Pierce Wilcox
Performer:   Sydney Chamber Opera and Jack Symonds, conductor
Title:      Out of Chaos  
Composer: Ekrem Eli Phoenix 
Performer:   Gravity and Other Myths 
Title:      Speechless
Composer: Cat Hope
Performer: Judith Dodsworth, Karina Utomo, Tara Tiba, Sage Pbbbt (soloists), with Australian Bass Orchestra, Decibel New Music Ensemble and Aaron Wyatt, conductor

Work of the Year — Jazz

Title:                  Aventurine        
Composer:         Linda May Han Oh         
Performer:   Linda May Han Oh, Greg Ward, Matt Mitchell, Ches Smith, Fung Chern Hwei, Sara Caswell, Benni von Gutzeit, Jeremy Harman, Invenio with Gian Slater, director
Title:                  Displacement   
Composer:         Josh Kelly                      
Performer:   Josh Kelly, Niran Dasika, Aviva Endean, Mary Rapp, Jacques Emery and Maria Moles
Title:                  The Colours of Grief                 
Composer:         Adam Page                    
Performer:        The Adam Page Ensemble         
Title:                  Umi No Uzu 
Composer:         Aaron Choulai                
Performer:          Australian Art Orchestra, Aaron Choulai, Miyama McQueen-Tokita and Kojoe
Linda May Han Oh.

Work of the Year – Large Ensemble

Title:      Beatrice            
Composer: Kate Moore        
Performer: Vivian Choi, piano, Willoughby Symphony, and Fabian Russell, conductor
Publisher:    Donemus Publishing BV
Title:      Flinders and Trim
Composer: Maria Grenfell  
Performer:   Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra, and Eivind Aadland, conductor
Title:      Icarus
Composer: Harry Sdraulig 
Performer:   Lloyd Hudson, Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra, and Elena Schwarz, conductor
Title:      Viola Concerto
Composer: James Ledger
Performer: Brett Dean, West Australian Symphony Orchestra and Fabien Gabel, conductor
Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra.

Work of the Year — Chamber Music

Title:      Cleave 
Composer: Natasha Anderson          
Performer:   Ensemble Offspring, International Contemporary Ensemble and Ensemble Adapter
Title:      passing bells: day
Composer: Chris Dench
Performer:   Alex Raineri
Title:      String Quartet no. 3: Hidden Agendas
Composer: Brett Dean         
Performer: Doric String Quartet
Publisher: Hal Leonard/Boosey & Hawkes Group
Title: Where The Quiet Rests     
Composer: John Pax           
Performer: WasteLAnd


Work of the Year — Electroacoustic/Sound Art

Title:      Coronal Mass 
Composer:   Amanda Cole with lead artist Michaela Gleave, programmer Warren Armstrong, sound engineer Bob Scott and scientists Martin Connors and Ian Schofield
Title:      Diaspora
Composer: Robin Fox and Erkki Veltheim     
Performer:   Robin Fox, Erkki Veltheim, Madeleine Flynn and Georgie Darvidis
Title:      Everywhen
Composer: Matthias Schack-Arnott
Performer:   Matthias Schack-Arnott
Title:      Imago
Composer: Fiona Hill           
Performer: Lamorna Nightingale, Jane Sheldon and Fiona Hill
Amanda Cole captured by Jared Underwood.

Performance of the Year – Jazz/Improvised Music

Performer:  Australian Art Orchestra          
Title:      The Plains 
Composer:   Peter Knight
Performer: Joseph Franklin
Title:      Amen 
Composer:   Joseph Franklin
Performer: Phil Slater Quintet
Title:      The Cordeaux Mirror
Composer:   Phil Slater
Performer: Sandy Evans, Shubha Mudgal, Aneesh Pradhan and Sirens Big Band
Title:      Bridge of Dreams 
Composer: Sandy Evans, Shubha Mudgal and Aneesh Pradhan

Performance of the Year – Notated Composition

Performer: Adelaide Symphony Orchestra and Douglas Boyd, conductor
Title:      Weave
Composer:   Cathy Milliken
Performer:  Louise Devenish           
Title:      Sheets of Sound’
Composers:   Annie Hui-Hsin Hsieh, Matthias Schack-Arnott, Louise Devenish and Stuart James
Performer: Sydney Chamber Opera and Jack Symonds, conductor
Title:      Oscar and Lucinda
Composer:   Elliott Gyger, librettist Pierce Wilcox
Performer:  Zubin Kanga     
Title:      Rhythm City
Composer:     Tristan Coelho 
Louise Devenish

Award for Excellence in Music Education 

  • Australian Art Orchestra for its Creative Music Intensive 
  • Netanela Mizrahi and Guwanbal Gurruwiwi for the Djari Project
  • Speak Percussion for Sounds Unheard Education Program
  • Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra for the Australian Composers’ School

Award for Excellence in a Regional Area

  • Bangalow Music Festival for its 2019 festival
  • Gillian Howell and Tura New Music for the Fitzroy Valley New Music Project
  • Netanela Mizrahi and Guwanbal Gurruwiwi for the Djari Project
  • Rae Howell for Bee-Sharp Honeybee

Award for Excellence in Experimental Music 

  • Gelareh Pour for Garden Quartet  
  • The Music Box Project for Shallow Listening  
  • Nat Grant for FEED
  • Zubin Kanga for 2019 Performances of Ballast by Jon Rose  


Tuesday 8 September at 7pm AEST – streaming live on YouTube

Follow on Twitter and Instagram — @APRAAMCOS @ausmusiccentre

Images supplied.